

Omak School District #19 SCHOOL BOARD SPECIAL MEETING Tuesday, March 19, 2024 – 5:30 p.m. Omak School District Administrative Office 619 W. Bartlett Ave., Omak, Washington 98841

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Dennis Carlton called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

1.01 Roll Call

Board Members:

Dennis Carlton, Chairman
Present
Darrel Diebel, Vice Chairman
Present
Jerry Day
Present
Mandy Holz
Pete Sirois
Present
Present

Michael Porter, Superintendent Present Estelle McCormack, Recording Secretary Present

1.02 Pledge of Allegiance

The meeting opened with Chairman Dennis Carlton leading the Pledge of Allegiance.

1.03 Approval of Agenda

Action

Motion by Pete Sirois and seconded by Jerry Day to approve the agenda, as presented.

Motion Approved

2. WORK SESSION

2.01 Math Curriculum Adoption Presentation – Jill Timm

Information

Executive Director of Teaching and Learning Jill Timm reviewed the Math Curriculum adoption process. Grade-level instructors provided their input and reasons for selecting specific curriculum for their grade level. Staff and community members are invited to schedule a time to review the curriculum, which is set up in the district board room. Board approval will be scheduled for the April 23, 2024, board meeting.

2.02 CTE Science / Welding Update - Tanya Peterson

Information

CTE Director Tanya Peterson and High School Principal David Kirk provided additional CTE Science / Welding educational pathway information, as previously requested by the board.

2.03 Document Review – March Regular Board Meeting

Information

Superintendent Michael Porter reviewed action items on the March Regular Board Meeting Agenda.

3. EXECUTIVE SESSION – RCW 42.30.110(1)(g)

The board went into Executive Session at 7:05 for approximately 30 minutes to discuss the performance of a public employee, with no action to be taken.

The board exited the Executive Session and re-entered open session at 7:35 p.m.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Dennis Carlton adjourned the meeting at 7:35 p.m. by consensus.

ATTEST:

Board Secretary

Board Chairman